Chlorophyta- Chlamydomonas nivalis 

The organisms belonging to the Phylum Chlorophyta are known as the “green algae”.  Their chloroplasts and pigments are similar to plants.  The organisms in this Phylum are the only group of algae with chlorophyll B.  

The Chlorophyta are found in variety of environments.  The multicellular green algae have both sexual and asexual stages in their life cycles.  Each organsims has cell walls composed of cellulose and pectin and store food as starch.

Organisms in the Phylum Chlorophyta include: Volvox, Spirogyra, Chlamydomonas nivalis, Trentpohlia, Trebouxia

Chlorophyta- Ulva lactuca 

  1. Lecture 6 domains and kingdoms. (2011). Retrieved from 

This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola