Plantae- Fontinalis antipyretica 

Kingdom Plantae consists of organisms that contain chlorophylls a and b.  The cell walls of each organism are made of cellulose and each ogansim has tissues and organs, such as roots, stems, and leaves.

Plants from this Kingdom evolved from algae, as demonstrated by their many similarities: both have chloroplast with chlorophylls a and b, both have cell walls made of cellulose, both form starch as stored glucose, and both demonstrate alternation of generations.

The orgnaisms are eukaryotic cells.  They are multi-cellular organisms that possess chloroplasts and carry out photosynthesis.  Their cells have a cell wall.

All organisms are autotrophic, making their own food.  Photosynthetic chlorophylls a and b give plants the ability to make sugars from water and carbon dioxide using the energy available in sunlight.  Their digestive systems in intracellular.  None of the organisms contain a nervous system.

Plants have haplo-diploid life cycles.  Fertilization and meiosis are the means of genetic recombination.  Organisms retain the embryo within female sex organ on parent plant.  The plants reproduce by sporic meiosis, in which a diploid Sporophyte generation produces spores (asexually), which grow into a haploid Gametophyte generation that reproduces sexually to form a zygote and new sporophyte.

Examples of organisms from Kingdom Plantae include: mosses, ferns, gymnosperms, angiosperms.

Six phyla which belong to Kingdom Plantae include: Bryophyta, Pterophyta, Cycadophyta, Ginkgophyta, Coniferophyta, and Anthophyta.

Plantae- Encephalartos sclavoi 

  1. Major divisions of life. (1999). Retrieved from 

This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola