Monocotyledonae- Tulipa gesneriana 

The Class Monocotyledonae have several defining charachteristics:  leaves have parallel veins and the flower parts are usually in multiples of 3.  All plants are herbaceous with a few exceptions.  The plants lack cambium.  The organisms have seeds which contain only one cotyledon, vascular bundles which are scattered in the stem, and are generally wind pollinated.

Examples of the organisms found in Class Monocotyledonae include: Lilium, Amaryllis, Iris, Agave, Yucca, orchids, duckweeds, grasses, and palms.

Monocotyledonae- Lilium bulbiferum 

  1. Major divisions of life. (1999). Retrieved from
  2. Kingdom plantae. (2010). Retrieved from

This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola