Phaeophyta- Laminaria hyperborea 

 The organisms that belong to Phylum Phaeophyta are commonly known as the “brown algae” and are the largest protists in the Kingdom Protist.  The organisms are multicellular and live in marine, temperate zone, coastal areas.

The Phaeophyta have a form of sexual reproduction with alternation of generations, which many protists also utilize.  The organisms from this Phylum are used as human food and a good source of iodine.

Examples of organisms found in Phylum Phaeophyta include: Sargassum, Fucus, Macrocystis, Pelagrophycus, and Laminaria.

Phaeophyta- Fucus vesiculosus 

  1.  McNabb, C. (2002, March 27). Phase 3- kingdom protista information. Retrieved from
  2. Protista. (2004, November 2). Retrieved from
  3. Kingdom protista. (2010). Retrieved from

This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola